+44 (0)1223 330484

Three-Minute Thesis

Congratulations to the winners of the seventh competition

On Monday, 12th March, Hughes Hall held its seventh three-minute thesis competition in the Pavilion Room, with a return to in person presentations with an audience.

Topics were as wide-ranging as ever: the early female Cambridge College ‘dons’; plant biodiversity for climate change; adolescent physical activity and mental health; how to ‘grow your own’ reagents for LFTs; gut microbes, parasites and snails; integration of urban planning with the needs of rural migrants; and why vitamin B might be important for reducing the severity of Alzheimer’s disease.

This annual competition is open to students at all stages in their academic career and offers a fantastic opportunity to convey the relevance and importance of their research to a non-specialised audience in three minutes or under, using just one slide.

Hosted by Dr Markus Hoepfler (Research Associate, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Research Convenor) and Dr Carole Sargent (Deputy Senior Tutor, Academic Convenor and Senior Research Associate, Department of Pathology), with support from fellow Hughes Hall judges, Jorge Lopez Tello, Johnny Habchi and Matteo Zallio; plus Alan Crivellaro and Ahmed Izzidien for the practice session.

Dr Carole Sargent said: “It was a welcome return to an in person 3MT competition, with fantastically diverse subjects and enthusiastic entrants and judges. A successful event was capped with a wonderful buffet provided by our catering staff. A big thank you to all the competitors, judges, organisers, and everyone who supported a fun and informative evening.”

The four winners, from left, Yizhou Yu, Abdulwahab Alshallal, Klara Aliz Start and Nicola Gorringe, and alongside 2022 participants and judges.

2022 Winners

Congratulations to the winners and runners up:

  • Mphil/1st year winner: Klara Aliz Start
  • PhD 2nd/3rd year winner: Nicola Gorringe
  • Mphil/1st year runner up: Abdulwahab Alshallal
  • PhD 2nd/3rd year runner up: Yizhou Yu
  • People’s choice: Yizhou Yu