Written by Honorary Fellow Professor Ged Martin and published to coincide with Hughes Hall’s 125thAnniversary Celebrations in 2010, our award winning illustrated history tells the story of College life from 1885 to the present day.
Beautifully produced and illustrated with new and archival images, the College book offers an affectionate and engaging narrative of Hughes Hall’s remarkable story of achievement.
Tracing our history back to its modest foundation in 1885 as the Cambridge Training College for Women Teachers, Ged Martin’s comprehensive account recreates those first years, taking in the building of the College in 1895 and its name change to Hughes Hall in 1949 when the University extended official recognition. The book goes on to explore the many milestones in Hughes’ history, including the admittance of men in the 1970s with a broadening of the College’s educational mandate, achieving full membership of the University in 2006, and the many developments that have taken place up to the present day.
The book is a handsome, colourful and readable record of the life of the College, which captures the spirit and charm of Hughes Hall.
Click here to preview a selection of sample pages from the book.
Recently awarded one of the Cambridgeshire Association for Local History Book Awards 2012, the text was judged as being a major contribution to the history of the area and women’s education.
The College book is a wonderful memento for both past and present students, providing a permanent reminder of their own personal connection with this vibrant and successful academic community.
To purchase your copy of the book please contact the Development Office